To read more about our upcoming events, please visit our News and Events page.



Master's and PhD Application Deadline Extended for Fall 2015

The application deadline for the MA and PhD in Mathematics programs has been extended to April 30, 2015 for students looking to apply for the fall 2015 semester. Visit our graduate admissions page to see application requirements, curricular outlines, and to apply today. [January 2015]

Three faculty positions available for Fall 2015

The department is taking applications for two tenure-track Assistant Professor positions and one Postdoctoral Associate. Details of the positions and information on how to apply are given at
[October 2014]

UB Mathematics on Facebook

More UB Mathematics on our Facebook page! facebook/UBMathematics

Hanfeng Li wins UB Exceptional Scholar Award

Hanfeng Li has been awarded the UB Exceptional Scholar Sustained Achievement Award for his outstanding research over the past several years. Congratulations to Hanfeng on this outstanding accomplishment! The award will be presented at the Celebration of Academic Excellence at 3:30 on Wednesday October 8 at the Center for the Arts.

The criteria for the Sustained Achievement Award (for senior scholars) are: (1) The work individually and collectively, must have garnered public and /or professional accolades beyond the norm for other bodies of work in the identified genre (e.g. citation analysis, critical reviews signifying the work is of enduring importance, completion of the work under the auspices of a highly prestigious fellowship or grant); (2) This award is for a body of work completed over a number of years. The award is not intended as a lifetime achievement award, but rather as recognition for outstanding performance in a recent segment of a scholar’s career. [September 2014]

Hanfeng Li

Steve Schanuel has passed away

Stephen H. Schanuel passed away July 21, 2014 just a few days after his 81st birthday on Bastille Day. Steve was a member of the UB Mathematics faculty from 1972-2011. Remarks by Scott Williams on Steve's life and role in our department are found here. [July 2014]

Steve Schanuel at Danilo

URGE students win best paper award

Congratulations to undergraduate Math majors Sean Kafer, Matthew Szczepankiewicz, and Joshua Terhaar, who received the Best Student Paper Award for their presentation "On Intersection Graphs of Convex Polygons" at the International Workshop on Combinatorial Image Analysis, IWCIA'14, in Brno, Czech Republic, May 28-30, 2014. Matt and Sean are students at UB, and Josh is at Buffalo State. The work was conducted in our undergraduate research apprenticeship program "URGE to Compute" under the mentorship of Prof. Valentin Brimkov of the Mathematics Department at Buffalo State. [June 2014] MCM Teams 2014 L to R: Matthew Szczepankiewicz, Joshua Terhaar, and Sean Kafer in downtown Brno.

Undergraduates compete in Mathematical Contest in Modeling

Congratulations to our two teams of undergraduates participating in the 2014 Mathematical Contest in Modeling. The team of Andrew Harris, Dante Iozzo, and Nigel Michki was designated as "Meritorious Winner" (top 9%) and the team of George Braun, Collin Olander, and Jonathan Tang received honorable mention (top 31%). John Ringland served as the faculty advisor to both teams. The Mathematical Contest in Modeling is a multi-day mathematics competition held this year from Feburary 6-8. It is distinguished from other major mathematical competitions such as Putnam by its strong focus on research, originality, teamwork, communication and justification of results. This year there were 6755 teams participating from around the world. [April 2014] MCM Teams 2014 L to R: Dante Iozzo, Nigel Michki, Andrew Harris, Collin Olander, George Braun, Jonathan Tang.